A Blend of Old and New For Christmas

For Christmas, my friend Alyse made me a gift that combined my interest in apples, my enjoyment of her art, and a research project we’re embarking on together. She scanned a page from a nineteenth-century nursery catalog and painted a shiawassee apple on it in the style of USDA pomological watercolors.

Malus Pyrus, by AVDP

She based the apple on a c. 1911 watercolor by Ellen Isham Schutt.

Here’s hoping your holidays are a blend of all your favorite things and good friends and family.

Happy Holidays!

2 Comments

Filed under Cider

2 responses to “A Blend of Old and New For Christmas

  1. Patrick McCauley

    Hey Mark! I hope you had a great Christmas! I’ve got 5 Shiawassee Beauties planted in my orchard(assuming the deer don’t eat them all before they can bear fruit). Love the print! Thanks for sharing this little bit of history!

    Pat

    Like

Leave a comment