Updates On Our “Compleat” Cider & Trader Joe’s Cyser

Last week I racked off the “Compleat” cider, which consists of raisins, sugar, and natural yeast. When it started it was dark brown (as you can see here). After a month in primary fermentation, it cleared out and now looks like this

IMG_0454Unfortunately, while I was putting the stopper in the new jug, I pushed it through the neck and down into the juice.

IMG_0466I transferred the juice to a new bottle for secondary fermentation and was able to get the stopper out. It’s not the end of the world or anything, but I was, at that very moment, explaining to J that you need to put the stopper in carefully.  Rather than laugh at me, she looked appropriately shocked.

The Trader Joe’s cyser started back in September has been sitting in secondary fermentation, clearing nicely. Nicely, that is, except for a thick, cloudy layer at the bottom of the carboy. I don’t know what it is, but it’s not solid like lees would be.


I put it in the fridge to cold crash it and see if it will get everything to settle out more. This layer might be nothing, but it’s probably not something I want to bottle. That means getting less cider from this batch, which would be a shame.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cider

Leave a Reply

